top of page

Third Growth of Bordeaux Wines!

Third growth Bordeaux refers to a classification of wine produced in the Bordeaux region of France. The classification was established in the 1855 Bordeaux Wine Official Classification, which ranked the top wines of the region into five growths or tiers based on the perceived quality and reputation of the wineries. The third growths were considered to be of high quality, but not quite as prestigious as the first and second growths.

Some well-known third growth Bordeaux wines include Château La Lagune, Haut-Medoc, Château Lagrange, St-Julien, Château Langoa Barton, St-Julien, Château Cantenac Brown, Margaux and Château Kirwan, Margaux. These wines are typically made from a blend of grapes, including Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, and Petit Verdot. They are known for their complex flavors and aromas, which can include notes of blackberry, currant, cedar, and spice.

Third growth Bordeaux wines are typically aged in oak barrels before being bottled, which adds to their depth and complexity. They are often enjoyed with food, and can pair well with a variety of dishes, including red meat, game, and cheese.

Overall, third growth Bordeaux wines are highly sought after by wine lovers for their quality and character. They offer a taste of the finest that the Bordeaux region has to offer, and are a true expression of the terroir and winemaking tradition of the area.

Article Written by: Austin Texas Wine Society

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page