top of page

Who Established the 1855 Classification of Bordeaux Wines?

The 1855 classification of Bordeaux wines was established at the request of Emperor Napoleon III, who wanted to create a definitive list of the top wines from the region for the upcoming Universal Exposition in Paris. The classification was based on the prices that the wines commanded on the market at the time, and it was divided into five categories, or "growths," based on their perceived quality and prestige. The first-growth wines were considered the best, followed by the second-growths, and so on!

First growth Bordeaux refers to a classification of the top wines produced in the Bordeaux region of France. The classification was first established in 1855, and it includes the wines of Château Lafite Rothschild, Château Margaux, Château Latour, Château Haut-Brion, and Château Mouton Rothschild. These wines are among the most prestigious and sought-after in the world, known for their high quality and complex flavors.

To be continued……

Article Written by: Austin Texas Wine Society

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page